SkiO Sprint success for Olsson and Lamov

Home athlete Magdalena Olsson and the Russian Andrey Lamov emerged as winners of today’s Sprint, the first race in this year’s SkiO World Cup. Norwegian athletes took second place in both races.

In the absence of Tove Alexandersson who has decided to miss this year’s SkiO season, Magdalena Olsson produced a top-class performance in front of her home crowd to win the women’s race by 30 seconds, having been fastest throughout. Evine Westli Andersen, Norway, was second, and third place went to another Swede, Linda Linkvist. Unusually, no Russian athlete got into the top six.

Women’s podium – Andersen, Olsson, Lindkvist   Photos: Skogssport

The experienced Lamov, World Cup winner in 2017-18, had a much tighter victory, by just 2 seconds over the young Norwegian Jørgen Baklid. It was again 2 seconds separating him and his third-placed compatriot Lars Moholdt. It was a close and exciting race: sixth-placed Erik Blomgren, Sweden was only 15 seconds down on the winner. Favourite Erik Rost had a slow start – 42 seconds down in 16th place at the radio control – and finished eighth.

Andrey Lamov celebrates victory with Jørgen Baklid (l) and Lars Moholdt (r)

Today’s races at the Ski Centre Vindeln in northern Sweden took place in cloudy conditions with a temperature around zero, after new snow fell yesterday. The Junior World (W/M20), European Youth (W/M17) and Swedish national Championships are also being held at the same venue. Tomorrow’s race is the Long Distance.

Leading results – World Cup Sprint


  1. Magdalen Olsson SWE 12:54
  2. Evine Westli Andersen NOR 13:24
  3. Linda Lindkvist SWE 13:32
  4. Marjut Turunen FIN 13:33
  5. Frida Sandberg SWE 13:40
  6. Daisy Kudre EST 13:42


  1. Andrey Lamov RUS 13:22
  2. Jørgen Baklid NOR 13:24
  3. Lars Moholdt NOR 13:26
  4. Vladislav Kiselev RUS 13:29
  5. Markus Lundholm SWE 13:36
  6. Erik Blomgren SWE 13:37

Junior World SkiO Championships

Gold medals to Elin Schagerstrom SWE (won by 3 secs.) and Niklas Eskstrom FIN (by 20 secs.)

European Youth SkiO Championships

Gold medals to Iuliia Khrennikova RUS (won by 32 secs.) and Matyas Stregl CZE (by 2 secs.)