Russia and Norway win European SkiO Relays

The Russian women’s team enjoyed a clear victory by more than 1½ minutes, whilst the Norwegian men came through on the last leg to take victory by 13 seconds in the final races of the European Ski Orienteering Championships in Turkey today.

In the women’s race a close competition between Russia and Sweden was anticipated, and it was Russia that got off to the best start with Alena Trapeznikova leading after the first leg and Hanna Eriksson for Sweden finishing fifth. On the second leg, Russia with Tatyana Oborina kept the lead and Sweden’s Magdalena Olssson moved up to third, 1.56 down on Finland in second place. Tove Alexandersson for Sweden got ahead of Salla Koskela, Finland on the final leg, but couldn’t catch the very consistent Mariya Kechkina who brought Russia to victory with a 1.48 margin. Bronze medals went to Finland, with a big gap down to Estonia in fourth place.

Vladislav Kiselev gave Russia a perfect start in the men’s race, and at the end of the first leg Sweden was fourth and Norway seventh. The veteran Russian Eduard Khrennikov (45) brought Russia into the second changeover 2.42 ahead of Norway, with Sweden holding on to fourth behind Russia’s second team. The in-form Lars Moholdt, winner of two individual gold medals, showed strong speed and determination to overhaul Russia’s Sergey Gorlanov on the final leg and take gold for Norway by 13 seconds. Erik Rost skied a sound leg for Sweden to take bronze medal position, 1.35 down on Russia.

Leading Relay results


  1. Russia (Alena Trapeznikova, Tatyana Oborina, Mariya Kechkina) 1:20:51
  2. Sweden (Hanna Eriksson, Magdalena Olsson, Tove Alexandersson) 1:22:39
  3. Finland (Marjut Turunen, Milka Reponen, Salla Koskela) 1:24:50
  4. Estonia 1:31:00
  5. Czech Republic 1:31:12
  6. Switzerland 1:34:45


  1. Norway (Jørgen Baklid, Jørgen Madslien, Lars Moholdt) 1:37:17
  2. Russia (Vladislav Kiselev, Eduard Khrennikov, Sergey Gorlanov) 1:37:30
  3. Sweden (Markus Lundholm, Erik Blomgren, Erik Rost) 1:39:05
  4. Finland 1:41:07
  5. Czech Republic 1:43:49
  6. Switzerland 1:53:44