Tove Alexandersson unbeatable in World Cup

With yet another victory, this time by 16 seconds, Tove Alexandersson is confirmed as winner of the 2019 World Cup. Belgium’s Yannick Michiels won the men’s race today.

Home athlete Elena Roos came closest to Alexandersson’s time in the Sprint held in Laufen, and another Swiss, Simona Aebersold was third, a further 27 seconds down. Alexandersson has the maximum possible counting points at this stage, 600, with the final round in China still remaining. The fight for second place is very close, with Aebersold leading the Russian Natalia Gemperle by just 3 points.

Neither of the two men’s World Cup leaders, Gustav Bergman and Olav Lundanes, scored well today – Lundanes finished 18th and Bergman 24th, so both could drop the resulting scores. Yannick Michiels took his second World Cup win, the first also being a Sprint, in Finland in 2017. He was pushed close by Kris Jones, Great Britain, who was just 2 seconds slower. Third today was home athlete Matthias Kyburz, now recovered from injury that restricted his World Championship performances. His compatriot Joey Hadorn has had a particularly successful weekend, finishing fifth equal today.

Success for Yannick Michiels, Belgium today

Third in the men’s World Cup standings is Daniel Hubmann, currently 7 points ahead of Vojtech Kral and 8 ahead of Joey Hadorn.

One World Cup round remains, in China in November.

Leading results, Sprint


  1. Tove Alexandersson SWE 14:18
  2. Elena Roos SUI 14:34
  3. Simona Aebersold SUI 15:01
  4. Natalia Gemperle RUS 15:03
  5. Sabine Hauswirth SUI 15:04
  6. Merja Rantanen FIN 15:05


  1. Yannick Michiels BEL 13:29
  2. Kristian Jones GBR 13:31
  3. Matthias Kyburz SUI 13:43
  4. Vojtech Kral CZE 13:57

5= Joey Hadorn SUI & Daniel Hubmann SUI  14:03

Leading World Cup scores


  1. Tove Alexandersson SWE 600 points
  2. Simona Aebersold SUI 343
  3. Natalia Gemperle RUS 340
  4. Sabine Hauswirth SUI 270
  5. Elena Roos SUI 248


  1. Gustav Bergman SWE 399
  2. Olav Lundanes NOR 370
  3. Daniel Hubmann SUI 296
  4. Vojtech Kral CZE 289
  5. Joey Hadorn SUI 288